Am I a writer?

My answer was ‘No’ just a few months back.

   I had a bad day when nothing went my way. All the whatsapp notifications tried its best to disturb my peace. No matter how many times I came out of groups, the group admin’s only job was to add me back instantly. So I politely informed them “only private chats” and deleted all the groups. But I decided to take a sweet revenge on them by becoming an admin myself under the group ‘writing is fun’.

    Then I started blogging as a hobby. There were times I stopped writing. There were times I quit blogging as well. But all of a sudden, from nowhere I got a golden opportunity to write an article for a magazine.They say opportunity knocks the door,but never did they say sometimes opportunity opens the closed-door and wakes you up from deep sleep. It happened to me.

   So I asked that opportunity, “Are you serious? You must be kidding. Do you think I can do this?”

   It gave a subtle reply , ” I don’t know. My job is done. Only you’ve to decide.”

   I went ahead. For so long I had barked  at the wrong tree, now it’s time to turn the tables.

   It was an amazing feeling after I got the magazine in my hand with my first article written in it. It was that moment I felt like I’m a writer.

  Suddenly, I realized I hadn’t posted anything in my blog for nearly a month. Now I feel like a writer for the first time I thought words will flow naturally, but it was the other way around. My mind was filled with emptiness.Is this the writer’s block all these writers had been talking about.

  Dear writer’s block, I’m sorry I’m not here to welcome you. It’s been only a day I feel like a writer. Don’t block me now idiot. You’ve ample amount of time to knock me down.Allow me to have the feel for the first time.

   So how does it feel to be a writer? I know I’ve to put it in words because I’m a writer now (I’m repeating this again and again so that it gets deep into me) 24 hours and counting….

Feel the breeze,feel alive. Then you’ll know how it feels to be a writer.

   One last time I’m asking the question “Am I a writer?”

Yes I’m because I feel so.

Yes I’m because I’ve got readers to read.

Yes I’m because I can bring a little smile through my story.

More than anything, I’m a writer because I write. And because I’m gonna write, write and write for the rest of my life.

78 thoughts on “Am I a writer?

  1. You are a writer coz you have your imaginations flowing inside you, finding words to be expressed, finding a place to be found. Keep writing. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hey, jeni X

    I really felt connected to this self-assurance post of yours since, lately I’m on a similar journey quite like yours where I’m trying to isolate all the opinions about what others have of me. I’m trying to build an identity on my terms and defining my capabilities and not letting others decide that for me (especially negative people!)

    I think you make a really amazing writer. Keep up the spirits!

    Your friend,
    – Anaida

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good luck to you too. Your posts are always relatable and written from the heart. Your emotions never fail to hit me. You’ve got everything in you to become a writer. My best wishes.

      Like

  3. Well done!!! For you have found something amazing and worthwhile … 😊✌
    Write untill … until your hand aches… your mind feels numb… and till your breath lasts… and I will always be your reader πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I was reading through this smiling and wondering.. hey where’s this girls potential..and then I read this …

    “More than anything, I’m a writer because I write. And because I’m gonna write, write and write for the rest of my life.”

    Hell yess babe! You go gurl! πŸ‘Œ

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Way to go! I’m very very happy for you that you capitalized on this opportunity. Yes you are a writer. God knows why you ever had a doubt! Well done and keep the good work up, Doll πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Jeniii! Congratulations dear❀ And this line,”They say opportunities knock the door,but never did they say sometimes opportunities open the closed door and wakes you up from deep sleep. It happened to me.” Wow definitely the best thing I’ve heard in a long time.
    I feel it what you feel, the high of writing, what you so beautifully described. Loved it a million times. Yes, you are a writer indeed and a great one too❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

